PIX-art

If you haven’t already read the story of how Pixar started, I recommend you read The Pixar Touch by David A. Price.

I found the entire book inspiring. Everytime I read it, I get a little high on adrenaline and I marvel at these mens’ immense amount of energy and their exceptional devotion to their vision. I feel like I should be getting off my seat and doing something that is in that very same spirit.

Don’t get it wrong, I’m not trying to advertise the book, I’m just sharing that weird jolt of energy that runs through me at the mere thought of ‘ Pixar’. So it makes total sense that I will make a visit to the Pixar exhibition that is held at science centre currently.

It was fantastic. I guess I was kind of expecting computer print outs of the different design stages of every of their work, but what I saw was hundreds of artworks. You may argue that these are not artworks per say, but what else do you call pieces of drawings done by oil paint, acrylic paint, markers, pastels, charcoal, pencils, etc.? There were even sculptures! ( or figurines, whatever you call them).

The journey begins!

It’s just gorgeous! Where else do you get to see the pre-finalized look of Woody in Toy Story. I lost count of the number of times I went ‘ Wow’ ‘That’s so tiny, how did they manage to paint that with, what?! Acrylic paint!’ ‘ I wonder how long this took them to complete’ ‘This would look great in my room!’

2 of my favourite pieces!

It struck me then that even though animation is about technology, it isn’t about technology alone. In it, there is also a whole universe of creativity, of skills, or hard work. What a long way animation has come from the hand drawn Disney cartoons.

Still, the charm of Disney cartoons is amazing. Found some amazing Disney Couture accessories when shopping with Sybil last week.

Kidada for Disney Couture Wrap Bracelet – Alice Blue

Kidada for Disney Couture Beauty & the Beast Rose Bangle

Lastly, Sybil’s favourite ‘We’re all mad’ pendant!

Tom Binns for Disney Couture Alice Heart Mad Necklace

X Alex

(Images from regencies and images of Pixar exhibition by self)

About fashionartisan
Bringing out the art in fashion

Leave a Reply

