Project Warriors

I was watching Project Runway today and Seth (Season 7) said something that really got me thinking.

“Before you pass any remark about why she decided to withdraw from the competition, you should think about how we are here in the workroom for 16 hours a day, 7 days a week. The pressure we face daily is huge and not everyone can handle it. Don’t judge. If you don’t believe me, come and try it yourself.”

I may not have quoted it perfectly, but the spirit is there. Someone decided to withdraw from the competition (I hope I’m not giving any spoilers here) and those were his words. It never crossed my mind exactly how much pressure these wonderfully talented people face.

Sure I knew it wasn’t easy, conceptualizing and realizing 1-2 outfits in 1-2 days, making sure everything fits and is styled beautifully, throwing your work out to be scrutinized, and being away from your family for such a long period of time – all that takes a lot of determination, focus and strength.

Kudos to everyone who has participated in Project Runway, you’re real warriors!

I thought I’d share with you some of my favourite participants through the seasons.

Daniel Vosovic (Season 2)
His designs are clean and sophisticated, though I do think their appeal tends towards the slightly more mature ladies.

 

Althea Harper (Season 6)
Althea’s designs are very up to date with a very street vibe to them. She knows how to make clothes that flatter a woman’s body. Love it!

My favourite of all though is Leanne Marshall (Season 5)
She specializes in mind boggling sculptural clothes that are girly and sophisticated. I don’t know how that makes any sense but you just have to see them for yourself!

In fact, some of her pieces were even displayed in the Contemporary Museum of Craft in Portland.

X Alex

(Images from danielvosovic, elle, altheaharper and etsy )

About fashionartisan
Bringing out the art in fashion

Leave a Reply

