Fashion biennale X2

I was surfing a while back when I found out about the term ‘fashion biennale’. Apparently, it has existed for years ( though probably less than a decade). Sure, I have been to fashion festivals and biennales with art installations but I’ve not heard of ‘fashion biennale’.

Maybe it’s something new that has evolved from fashion festivals, or perhaps it’s simply a lack of exposure on my part, but there is such a lack of coverage of these fashion biennales that if I blinked, I would have missed the entire event.

So far, I have found only two such events- Arnhem Mode Biënnale and the Nordic Fashion Biennale.

The events include exhibitions, conferences, lectures, bazaars, temporary shops etc. and they sound so exciting!

The Arnhem Mode Biënnale which held it’s third edition last year ( 2009) includes participants like Lanvin, Boudicca, Sandra Backlund, and Hussein Chalayan. They also showcased emerging fashion talents who had only recently finished their studies or are about to graduate.

Image from Arnhem Mode Biënnale 2009

The Nordic fashion biennale held for the first time in 2009 caught my attention with its location – Reykjavík, Ísland.

Just look at all that snow! The hot pink cyclindrical container looks totally out of place and that’s the beauty of the contrast.

Publicity poster

Designs showcased

My favourite photo of the lot. To imagine being in that environment gives me the chills. WOW. (pun unintentional)

I wish there were more photos of the Nordic Fashion Biennale though.

Sure look forward to the next edition. Absolutely love the mix of art and fashion! I would love see a fashion biennale right here in Singapore. I wonder what are the chances…..

X Alex

(Images from Arnhemmodebiennale2009 and nordicfashionbiennale )

About fashionartisan
Bringing out the art in fashion

Leave a Reply

