www stands for World Wide Woman

Alex and I are working on a little project right now.  As with any artistic creation, the process is very important.  Hence, it is extremely inspiring to learn about Vivienne Westwood’s artistic process for her Autumn/Winter 2011 collection.  She recalled, “…this time I started really late with no idea except for a fragment of precious ribbon I had seen pictured in an old sales catalogue I discovered among my books.”

Prints were also a big part of the collection.  She described the process of selecting prints, “I introduced colour by printing.  There is no setting-up cost (for digital printing) so you might as well have every print different. That’s what I did and found every print in my small booklet of fabrics from the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston.”

Perhaps an important lesson we can learn from Westwood is that the creativity and inspiration can occur anywhere, including from within.  “I like to mix garments from different times and places: historical, ethnic, 20th century couture – I copied a coat from Balenciaga and a dress from Chanel. I sometimes copy from myself, re-doing clothes from way back in my archive. I like new things as well as things repeated and developed from last season. Most of all, I like ‘do it yourself’, as if the wearer has spontaneously put her own creation together in an afternoon.”

She explained, “One thing I knew about the collection – I wanted the woman to look important.  I called the collection World Wide Woman. A collection is more than the sum of its parts and this one entered a realm I had not envisaged.”

X Sybil

(Images from Dazed Digital)

About fashionartisan
Bringing out the art in fashion

One Response to www stands for World Wide Woman

  1. I really appreciate how you guys connect art to fashion! Perfect post!

Leave a Reply

