Arata Fuchi – Pulverization is my identity

As promised, this is the first of a series of interviews with a selection of amazing jewelry designers whose works I like.

Born in Japan and based in Florence, Italy, Arata Fuchi is probably more of an artist than a designer.  He believes that “artificial shape doesn’t exist in an organic life, mysterious power operates, and beautiful shape comes.”

His pieces are therefore not merely decorative but extremely conceptual and aesthetically minimal, just the way I like it.  We spoke to the designer over email and you can really sense the ‘artist’ within the designer, or perhaps there is no difference between a jewelry artisan from a visual artist after all.

White ball with palladium studs ring

 

How did you become a jewelry designer – did you teach yourself, train as an apprentice, or go to art school?

I graduated in Industrial Design at Tokyo Zokei University in 1999, and worked as a watch designer in Tokyo until 2003.  I then completed my jewelry education at Le Arti Orafe Jewelry School & Academy in Florence, Italy, in 2005, and since then have worked professionally in Italy and Japan, also exhibiting my work internationally.

What inspires you as a jewelry designer?

Beauty of form that nature, not artifice, creates. I take inspiration from the vitality of nature, childhood memories, and a sense of beauty that is inherent and unique in the way that the Japanese see the natural world.  Interesting shapes are made when the regular and the irregular unite.

Do you have any favourite designers? Who are they?

I don’t really have any favourite jewelry designers in particular, since I seldom get to know other jewelry designers’ work. However, my favourite artists are Caravaggio, Henri Matisse and Rembrandt.

Black ring with fine gold studs

Grey ring with gold foil sprinkled

Black earrings with gold foil sprinkled

Tell us more about how you developed your own technique of pulverization.

I was searching for a way of creating a method by which I could find this very specific and original texture.  I repeatedly experimented using various methods (e.g. applying chemicals, burning etc.), which helped me gradually establish my method.
What does pulverization mean to you?  Why do you choose to work with this technique?

It is my identity and is my self. I very much like the color which metal takes on after undergoing the process.  Therefore, the jewelry I make is made using only metal. However, I was beginning to feel that there was a certain limit to how expressive I could be using only existing metalwork techniques, therefore I began to explore my method of pulverisation by means of trial and error, and eventually arrived at this original technique.

Do you have any plans to expand your craft beyond jewelry?  Tell us more.

Since I believe that there is a certain limit in expression when making only jewelry, I would like to explore other means of creation, such as solid work like sculpture.

I am very attempted to get myself a piece by Fuchi before he becomes a visual artist.  In any case, I leave you with his words ” I think I can give life to jewelry that uses only an inorganic material by receiving the inspiration from an organic life.”

X Sybil

(Images from Boticca)

About fashionartisan
Bringing out the art in fashion

One Response to Arata Fuchi – Pulverization is my identity

  1. Diana Marks says:

    wow! interesting interview! and amazing pieces!

    LA By Diana Live Magazine

Leave a Reply

